Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

On Second Thought

A Novel

by Kristan Higgins

eBook

0 of 1 copy available
1 person waiting per copy

Place a hold Read a sample Read a sample

Read the book that has book clubs everywhere falling in love! From the New York Times bestselling author of If You Only Knew comes an irresistible, heartbreaking novel that is a must read for fans of Jennifer Weiner, Emily Giffin, and Jane Green.

Praise for On Second Thought:

"Higgins has perfect pitch when it comes to her upstate New York protagonists and their expanded worlds that even extend to Brooklyn. Emotional depth is seared into every page along with wry banter, bringing readers to tears and smiles. Another hit for Higgins."—Library Journal, starred review

"A captivating read about two sisters dealing with love, loss and new beginnings. What sets this book apart is how one event changes both women's lives. Kate is refreshingly frank in her inner monologue, and Ainsley is charmingly self-aware and wry."—RT Book Reviews, *5 STARS* Top Pick!

"Higgins' complex, witty characters will seem like close friends, and readers will savor each and every page as they find that love comes in many different flavors and forms. Demand will be high for the latest from this women's-fiction star."—Booklist, starred review

Ainsley O'Leary is so ready to get married—she's even found the engagement ring her boyfriend has stashed away. What she doesn't anticipate is being blindsided by a breakup he chronicles in a blog...which (of course) goes viral. Devastated and humiliated, Ainsley turns to her older half sister, Kate, who's struggling with a sudden loss of her own.

Kate's always been the poised, self-assured sister, but becoming a newlywed—and a widow—in the space of four months overwhelms her. Though the sisters were never close, she starts to confide in Ainsley, especially when she learns her late husband was keeping a secret from her.

Despite the murky blended-family dynamic that's always separated them, Ainsley's and Kate's heartaches bind their summer together when they come to terms with the inevitable imperfection of relationships and family—and the possibility of one day finding love again.


Expand title description text
Publisher: HQN Books

Kindle Book

  • Release date: January 31, 2017

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9781460397787
  • File size: 1486 KB
  • Release date: January 31, 2017

EPUB eBook

  • ISBN: 9781460397787
  • File size: 1486 KB
  • Release date: January 31, 2017

0 of 1 copy available
1 person waiting per copy

Formats

Kindle Book
OverDrive Read
EPUB eBook

subjects

Fiction Romance

Languages

English

Read the book that has book clubs everywhere falling in love! From the New York Times bestselling author of If You Only Knew comes an irresistible, heartbreaking novel that is a must read for fans of Jennifer Weiner, Emily Giffin, and Jane Green.

Praise for On Second Thought:

"Higgins has perfect pitch when it comes to her upstate New York protagonists and their expanded worlds that even extend to Brooklyn. Emotional depth is seared into every page along with wry banter, bringing readers to tears and smiles. Another hit for Higgins."—Library Journal, starred review

"A captivating read about two sisters dealing with love, loss and new beginnings. What sets this book apart is how one event changes both women's lives. Kate is refreshingly frank in her inner monologue, and Ainsley is charmingly self-aware and wry."—RT Book Reviews, *5 STARS* Top Pick!

"Higgins' complex, witty characters will seem like close friends, and readers will savor each and every page as they find that love comes in many different flavors and forms. Demand will be high for the latest from this women's-fiction star."—Booklist, starred review

Ainsley O'Leary is so ready to get married—she's even found the engagement ring her boyfriend has stashed away. What she doesn't anticipate is being blindsided by a breakup he chronicles in a blog...which (of course) goes viral. Devastated and humiliated, Ainsley turns to her older half sister, Kate, who's struggling with a sudden loss of her own.

Kate's always been the poised, self-assured sister, but becoming a newlywed—and a widow—in the space of four months overwhelms her. Though the sisters were never close, she starts to confide in Ainsley, especially when she learns her late husband was keeping a secret from her.

Despite the murky blended-family dynamic that's always separated them, Ainsley's and Kate's heartaches bind their summer together when they come to terms with the inevitable imperfection of relationships and family—and the possibility of one day finding love again.


Expand title description text
  • Details

    Publisher:
    HQN Books

    Kindle Book
    Release date: January 31, 2017

    OverDrive Read
    ISBN: 9781460397787
    File size: 1486 KB
    Release date: January 31, 2017

    EPUB eBook
    ISBN: 9781460397787
    File size: 1486 KB
    Release date: January 31, 2017

  • Creators
  • Formats
    Kindle Book
    OverDrive Read
    EPUB eBook
  • Languages
    English